Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video
Download your free ebook "Choosing the perfect diamond" Download your free ebook "Choosing the perfect diamond"

Guide to diamonds

From Izik Davidov, DeRocks founder

We’re here to help make the process of buying a diamond easy and simple. It can be an overwhelming process—often customers find conflicting and confusing information about which diamond they should choose.

Read our comprehensive ebook for everything you need to know about buying a diamond.

The four C’s

It’s important to know a little about each of the C’s—cut, colour, clarity and carat weight—these factors are vital in a diamond’s appearance and value.


Cut is the most important consideration when buying a diamond. It refers to how a diamonds’ facets interact with light. This affects its brightness, fire (how the light disperses on the diamond) and sparkle (scintillation). We recommend buying the highest cut grade within your budget. A diamond’s cut is graded on a scale: excellent, very good, good, fair, poor.

Cut vs shape

Often ‘cut’ and ‘shape’ are used interchangeably, but shape is the outline of the diamond—round diamonds are the standard shape and all other variations are ‘fancy’.


Colourless diamonds are most desirable—they refract the most light so they sparkle more. Diamonds with more colour don’t refract light as well and sparkle less. The Gemological Institute of America’s (GIA) colour scale begins at D (a colourless stone) all the way to Z—each lower grade indicates more colour in the diamond. At DeRocks, we stock diamonds in the D to G range (the higher end of the scale).


Diamonds are formed naturally deep in the earth under intense pressure and heat so they often contain ‘birthmarks’ that are either internal (inclusions) or external (blemishes). The clarity of a diamond refers to the absence of these inclusions and blemishes. The GIA’s clarity scale assigns a clarity grade ranging from flawless to diamonds with obvious inclusions.


Carat is the standard unit of weight for diamonds and other gemstones. Large diamonds are much rarer than smaller ones, so the price of a diamond rises exponentially in relation to its size.

The importance of certification

When a diamond is certified, it means an independent body has inspected and evaluated the diamond in a laboratory against specific criteria. Learn more about certification.

At DeRocks,
we stock diamonds ranging from 0.05 carats up to 3.00 carats and higher. Whatever your needs, we’re confident we can help you select your perfect diamond. Book an appointment or build a quote.